Witches Weekly #1

Witches Weekly is a Friday Five for Witches and Pagans.  I will make an attempt to answer one of the site’s questions.

The question:
Where in your list of roles do you place your role of a pagan?

Explanation:
By roles I mean, mother, brother, daughter, son, worker, democrat, American, lover, caretaker, etc. We all have a lot of different roles we play and usually they all fall into an order of importance. Is being a “pagan” at the top, or is it somewhere in the middle?”

My Answer:
My response to this question is a lot simpler than even I expected. To me, I don’t even think about my spiritual beliefs on a regular basis. They’re a part of who I am and therefore I feel that it comes before any other adjective that could be used to describe me. My thoughts and philosophies concerning life and the universe shape every action I take, as a daughter, sister, wife, voter, business person, and even cook. They’re ingrained. I don’t wake up every morning and affirm “I’m a pagan”, just like I don’t look at myself in the mirror and think that being a brunette is something separate from the rest of my person.

Leave a Reply

