Love and Books

This year I rediscovered how much I love to read.  For some reason, however, I fell into a great rhythm of one book after the other. It was really neat how they just seemed to jump into my lap. For the moment, I have fallen into a lull, but I will definitely be getting back into the swing of things come January. One of the books I have been plugging along in is

Women Who Run With the Wolves

. Everywhere I turned this year, this title kept coming up. I don’t believe in coincidence, so I took it as a sign. Well, was it ever! I could not have tied it in any better to what I was reading than if I’d written it myself. Now, the great part is that this book is LOADED with Woman Wisdom, and the bad part is that, like women, it will take a lifetime to understand and figure out. And that’s if you’re lucky! I am enjoying it, though, and each time I pick it up, it speaks to me right where I am.

Tying into the book themes, I’ve really been struggling this year with Love; What is it really? Can I have it? Do I already have it and don’t know it? Do I even love myself? Am I open to receiving love from anyone else, or am I scared of being burned? You get the idea. A lot of questions. Have I found a few answers? Yes, I think I have, but as always, there remains a plethora of questions yet unanswered. I suppose time will have to tell me more on that.

Looking back over the year, I’d say I was on a quest. I didn’t know at the time that I even wanted to go, or even when I left, but that’s what it was. I’m quite sure, too, that I’m still on the quest, because I still have more questions than answers. Now I know, that seems to be what life is all about: realizing that the older we get, the less we know. Well, from the looks of it, I must be pretty old, ’cause I don’t know sh**! I just hope that this new year will bring about some enlightenment that I can wrap my head around.

So, here is a toast to all those moving forward into the new year. May we slow down enough to realize how blessed we are, to enjoy those things which make us happy and to treasure the people whom we deeply love.

Leave a Reply

